Using Hyena in a NT4/AD Environment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using Hyena in a NT4/AD Environment

We log into an NT4 domain. I am a domain admin in the NT4 domain. We regularly administer a trusted/trusting active directory domain with Hyena. Often, we cannot access resources on a server in the AD domain using Hyena because we get a lot of access denied messages. My username and password are the same in both NT4 and AD domains. How can I 'authenticate' myself to AD so Hyena works 100%?

Re: Using Hyena in a NT4/AD Environment

As long as your username and password are the same in both domains, Windows will use pass-thru authentication to authenticate your account.

Without having more details to go on, I would have to assume that your account in the AD domain may be limited to some degree, such as you've been delegated permissions to perform certain functions only, etc.

If this doesn't sound like the situation, send details on what exactly you are doing when you get these errors, and screen shots of the errors to [email protected]

Comment

I have scene a similar issue. I log into Hyena using my NT credentials on the NT domain and try to access the trusted 2000 domain.

I can pull up and modify the exchange properties for a user no problem.

Yet when I attempt to modify and of the users properties in 2000 i get the following error in Hyena

"Unable to save Active Directory data. Access is denied. -- Entended Error --- LDAP Provider : 00002098: SecErr: DSID-03150546, problem 4003 (INSUFF_ACCESS_RIGHTS), data 0"

Do i fall under the same solution as the other fellow who started this thread?

I am added into the Domian Admins group for bot the NT and 2000 domains.

Comment

As a test, try using Active Directory Users & Computers on the same computer you are running Hyena from, and let us know what happens when you modify the same user account on the 2000 domain.

Comment