Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Multiple Templates for Admins

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • woodsy
    replied
    Re: Multiple Templates for Admins

    fyi - this works great. You don't even need to close Hyena on any other machine to get the new settings after saving them. All I need to figure out now is the TS settings

    Thanks again.

    Leave a comment:


  • woodsy
    replied
    Re: Multiple Templates for Admins

    Thanks for the quick response! I'll give it a shot and see how it goes.

    Cheers,
    Tony

    Leave a comment:


  • kstanush
    replied
    Re: Multiple Templates for Admins

    Yes, there are a couple of ways. If you are good with registry manipulations, you could periodically (or even through a script), save the unique registry key (look under hkey_current_user\software\adkins resource\hyena\home dir...) and save the .reg key out and them import it into the registry each time you run Hyena.

    Or, under Hyena's Tools->Settings->General, set a Shared Settings File, and check the box to save the settings to this file. Click OK, and then look at the file and you will see the settings in the file. Copy the file to a shared location for these other users, and have them all point to this file under Tools->Settings->General. If you want, you can set the security on this file so that they can't modify it. If you want, you can remove the settings manually from the file that you don't need.

    Each time you need to change the home dir. templates, just save the changes back to this file.

    Let us know if you have problems. Thanks

    Leave a comment:


  • woodsy
    started a topic Multiple Templates for Admins

    Multiple Templates for Admins

    Hi,

    We have about 10 Account Admins. We have Hyena on all of their machines with about 14 User Home Directory templates. Right now, if one of them makes a change to one of their templates, everyone has to do it. Are these stored someplace so that if it's changed on one Admins machine, we can copy a file to everyone else's machine? What happens if we need to create 3 new templates and delete one. Right now everyone has to do it manually. Is there a way around this?

    Thanks,
    Tony
Working...
X