Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scriptomatic

Hi all,

First of all, thanks to everyone who has contributed tools, I've found many really useful.

Just thought I would pass on something that I have come across that could be really useful for those who want to have a go at scripting. This can be used to make tools in Hyena.

Microsoft have released a utility called Scriptomatic that automatically writes WMI (Windows Management Instrumentation) scripts.

It can be downloaded here http://tinyurl.com/fk6q

It's really easy to use, even if you haven't done much scripting before - like me!

I won't say too much about it - have ago and you'll soon see just how much info it can produce.

Once you have found some things you want Hyena top report on, you'll want to create a tool to run the script after you select a computer in Hyena.

Below you will find a sample that will get you working. Like I said, I'm new to scripting too and I borrowed part of the script from elsewhere. As a result there may be a few lines that are redundant - but it does work without errors. If you can improve on it then post it back!

I have listed two tools that do the same job, but output differently. The first one outputs to a dos windows and the second one will output to a windows dialog box. Just to show that there are two ways of doing things.

This one outputs to a dos window:

Menu Caption= Cmd Lookup video mode properties
    Command line= cmd /c cls & cscript.exe "\\server\share\display.vbs" //I //NoLogo %E% & pause

This one outputs to a windows dialog box:

Menu Caption= Win lookup video mode
    Command line= wscript.exe "\\server\share\display.vbs" //I //NoLogo %E%

*Change the \\server\share to the location where you will save the file display.vbs

Copy the text below into a file called Display.vbs

' start of script
    ' get the arguments
    Dim objArgs : Set objArgs = WScript.Arguments ' create object with collection

' determine if an argument was passed